Premier Ford Shuffles Cabinet at Halfway Point of Second Term

Premier Ford today announced his most significant Cabinet Shuffle since coming to office in 2018. Noteworthy in today’s announcement is the swap between the Energy portfolio and Education, while a number of other portfolios were split to enlarge the overall Cabinet.

The most significant change is Stephen Lecce leaving Education after 6 years and becoming the new Minister of Energy and Electrification. Generally regarded as the best communicator in Cabinet, this will make him the face of the government and spokesman for the busy EV market in the coming years. Well-regarded Minister Todd Smith from the Bay of Quinte, becomes Education Minister, replacing Lecce.

Additionally, new faces joining the Cabinet include Mike Harris Jr, who becomes Minister of Red Tape Reduction while Sam Oosterhoff, Natalie Kusendova-Bashta, Nolan Quinn and Trevor Jones all join the Cabinet for the first time. No Ministers were dropped from the previous Cabinet.

Paul Calandra remains as Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing while divests his other roles of Government House Leader and Acting Minister of Red Tape Reduction.

The Cabinet now numbers 36 from a total caucus of 80 members. The previous Cabinet had 30 members.

Also worth noting is the addition of former Minister Steve Clark to a prominent role as Government House Leader, although not a Cabinet position.

The Legislature adjourned today for the summer break which the government has extended to October 21, 2024.

The new Cabinet is as follows:

  • Premier Doug Ford remains Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Sylvia Jones remains Deputy Premier and Minister of Health
  • Peter Bethlenfalvy remains Minister of Finance
  • Paul Calandra remains Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing
  • Raymond Cho remains Minister of Seniors and Accessibility
  • Stan Cho becomes Minister of Tourism, Culture and Gaming, with responsibility for OLG
  • Doug Downey remains Attorney General
  • Jill Dunlop remains Minister of Colleges and Universities
  • Vic Fedeli remains Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade
  • Rob Flack becomes Minister of Farming, Agriculture and Agribusiness
  • Michael Ford remains Minister of Citizenship and Multiculturalism
  • Mike Harris becomes Minister of Red Tape Reduction
  • Michael Kerzner remains Solicitor General
  • Andrea Khanjin remains Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks
  • Natalia Kusendova-Bashta becomes Minister of Long-Term Care
  • Stephen Lecce becomes Minister of Energy and Electrification
  • Neil Lumsden becomes Minister of Sport
  • Todd McCarthy becomes Minister of Public and Business Service Delivery and Procurement, with responsibility for Supply Ontario
  • Caroline Mulroney remains President of the Treasury Board and Minister of Francophone Affairs
  • Michael Parsa remains Minister of Children, Community and Social Services
  • David Piccini remains Minister of Labour, Immigration, Training and Skills Development
  • George Pirie remains Minister of Mines
  • Greg Rickford becomes Minister of Indigenous Affairs and First Nations Economic Reconciliation and remains Minister of Northern Development
  • Prabmeet Sarkaria remains Minister of Transportation
  • Todd Smith becomes Minister of Education
  • Graydon Smith becomes Minister of Natural Resources
  • Kinga Surma remains Minister of Infrastructure
  • Lisa Thompson becomes Minister of Rural Affairs
  • Stephen Crawford becomes Associate Minister of Mines as part of the Ministry of Mines
  • Trevor Jones becomes Associate Minister of Emergency Preparedness and Response as part of Treasury Board Secretariat
  • Sam Oosterhoff becomes Associate Minister of Energy-Intensive Industries as part of the Ministry of Energy and Electrification
  • Nolan Quinn becomes Associate Minister of Forestry as part of the Ministry of Natural Resources
  • Nina Tangri remains Associate Minister of Small Business as part of the Ministry of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade
  • Vijay Thanigasalam becomes Associate Minister of Housing as part of the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing
  • Michael Tibollo remains Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions as part of the Ministry of Health
  • Charmaine Williams remains Associate Minister of Women’s Social and Economic Opportunity as part of the Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services
Share on Social Media